Neko

january 1st

Another month another journal entry! (Sorry I missed December orz)

so my sibling and their boyfriend broke up..... it's for the best since said bf was treating my sibling like crap but they're taking it pretty hard... that, and my new years plans got cancelled, and sleep has been tough, so i'm kind of down.

ON THE BRIGHT SIDE THOUGH! A BUNCH OF GOOD STUFF HAS HAPPENED SINCE I LAST WROTE!

so i alluded to it in One spot on my site (that has since been edited), but i lost contact with a good friend of mine ages ago back when i was still in early high school. the memories of how it happened were fuzzy, but how i remembered it going down baaaasically ended up making me develop a complex of like 'oh i ended that really shittily and i generally don't believe in karma but i have a feeling that one day someone's gonna pull the same shit i pulled on him and it's gonna fucking hurt' and i just. Sat With That For A Few Years! Until, like it does every winter, it started eating at me again and I made the effort to reach out even if I wasn't sure he was the one I was reaching out to (at 3am... on a burner facebook...)

...AND IT ACTUALLY WORKED OUT REALLY REALLY WELL! we ended up reconnecting and it turns out both of us had been trying for years, had different memories of how things ended and both felt terribly about it. I sent him a letter back in like 2018 or 2019 apologizing for everything, which he received and wanted to be back in contact again, but I didn't leave a return address on the envelope bc I didn't know if it was weird for me to send snail mail after years of no contact. Then sometime either before or during the start of the pandemic he reached out to me on Twitter, but I didn't see it and ended up deleting shortly afterwards bc Twitter is a hellscape. But now we're back in contact and I even got to send him Christmas presents! So so so SO happy w how things turned out. Very glad that we're back in each other's lives now. Also, despite being apart for nearly a decade, we're still both super similar lol.

And I got to go to a white elephant party! My friend Max hosted it. The day before was spent cooking stuff to bring along since it was a potluck and we had a multi-hour drive to get there, but thankfully despite some hiccups everything turned out fine! Dinner was super tasty, my favorite parts were probably the chicken dumplings and the macarons. I was a little nervous that the gift I picked out to bring (a frog tea infuser) was a little on the cheap side, but half the room was gunning to steal it lol. I got some HT jewelry that I really liked as part of the game. Most of the rest of the night was spent grazing on food and talking and playing on the Wii. It was also the first time I got to meet Max's friends from high school, and they're all really cool!

Woke up kind of late the next day, got a donut and a matcha-mint frappucino for breakfast (which was so fuckin tasty??), browsing the farmer's market for gifts for a friend of Rai's, then skedaddling over to our old college to pick her up. We ended up getting boba and did some grocery shopping and got dinner together, and omg??? I hadn't had much Korean food before but sundubu is so fuckin good???? Then we were on the road home and Rai and I split the extra donut we each got earlier in the day.

Christmas eve and Christmas were both pretty chill and quiet, I mostly spent mine sleeping. Christmas morning was fun, my parents and sibling loved the gifts I picked out for them and I was happy w my gifts, my favorites probably being my Symphony Rin and Len Nendoroids.

Past week has been similarly pretty chill. Slept over at Rai's place a few days before New Years, watched Garfield (2004) and Barbie Diamond Castle while high (recommended; enhanced by eating an assortment of taffies and other snacks during). Original post-NY plans got called off since a few of us got sick over Christmas and considering upcoming travel and work circumstances, we collectively decided it probably wasn't worth chancing it. Hoping we can make new plans sometime before February though, and definitely planning stuff in the future. My ACTUAL NYE ended up just being having a few drinks w my sibling and watching Blue Eye Samurai and some of Tartakovsky's Clone Wars. Also made some more progress on my patch jacket.

But yeah! Despite being a little down the past few days things have been good. Oh and I finished my driver's ed, just need to take the test to get my permit.

rin and len dancing gif